Grammy

By Grammy

At Long Last

We got up very early to attend 7:00 am Mass. I mistakenly read my friend’s daughter’s note about it being a Memorial Mass for her Mom. It is tomorrow at 8:00. But it gave me a great start to the day. It has been raining off and on since last night. There was a break in the clouds when we got home so I walked about checking the status of my gardens. Found my blip right away. Picked the weeds out of a few area. Hubby had a Knight’s function but I chose to stay home and put away the rest of the vacation items and wash a load of laundry. At some point the rain came down in earnest. And of course, I was in the garden picking my first big ripe tomato, some grape tomatoes and four yellow squash. Even with a rain coat, my clothes were soaked. But I got the prize and soon turned it into a tomato and Mayo sandwich. Oh my, it was as wonderful as anticipated. In my opinion, eating that first tomato is the absolute highlight of having a garden. And there are three more that should be ready tomorrow. But it is a challenge to reach them with all those intertwined branches and tomato cages. Something broke off a branch of a sweet pepper plant with a few small peppers; a shame. Hubby brought me a late lunch from his event and picked up spaghetti squash lasagna from Renee so no cooking required today. It will be nice to get out the Kindle. I read very few pages while at the beach. Hope you had an enjoyable weekend also. Thanks for stopping by. Stay safe. “Country to me is living life at its simplest: Learning to appreciate a sliced vine-ripe tomato with a dash of salt, served between two slices of good bread and eaten over the kitchen sink.” - Art Smith

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.