Alleyway

I'm pleased we only headed into the hills for one night. It would have been rough today with rain and snow.

Instead I experienced the unusual luxury of sleeping in.I must have needed it. A good chunk of the day passed with phone calls with family and friends. Nothing much on the domestic front but the phone calls were necessary. It's the sort of territory where I just need to go with the flow.

I also fiddled around with my crampons and big boots. I wasn't happy with the fit of one crampon last time I used them and they're the sort of thing you want to get right before you're on the side of the mountain.

In the end a friend and I consulted an expert at one of the stores I frequent. It was a good opportunity to return one of my Gortex mountain gauntlets too. Sometimes gear has an unlimited warranty and this should cover the stitching issue my glove has. It's a useless glove with stitching undone and no longer water proof. Just a matter of the replacement process working its way through.
And yes, all this does herald a bit of vertical into snow on my horizon :-)

I spotted this alleyway with the amazing array of heat pump units fitted along the outside on our way home. It was the line of units that caught my eye.

Lastly I defied the weather and snuck out for a short run late this afternoon. My first one since coming down with a heavy cold. Less than a month now before the days will slowly start to lengthen again.

The best thing about a day off was time to talk to Mum both this morning and this evening. That was very good. We're in uncharted territory and I have some things to think about and I'll give myself some time to do that tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.