Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

I Am The Gatekeeper

It was amazing this morning in our thistle patch in the sun as I was overwhelmed by butterflies. Fabulous. 

It has really paid off not cutting the thistle patch back - it's only small really in the scheme of things, but wow what a difference a couple of years makes. 

Not the usual suspects of the coppers and the blues but instead browns, that is meadow browns, gatekeepers, small skippers and marbled whites in abundance. Very uplifting in every way to see. The marbled whites a newbie here last year as we had just one has now come back stronger and we had 8 perched up this morning and as for gatekeepers well I couldn't move for them, most of them males. I just adore the colour of this guys wings. 

Always I am reminded with gatekeepers of Ghostbusters - I can't help it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.