LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Celebrations

This is the second day of the 75th Stromness Shopping Week. I have been told by Blipfoto that today is also my 14th Blip Birthday. 5110 entries, almost 2 million views and I’ve enjoyed every minute  of them.
I have never had the patience to keep a diary but this pictorial record of my life since 2009 has been a labour of love and provided me with so many friends virtual and real. Unlike many internet sites, this one is the exception for people being kind to each other. Everyone has views and beliefs which are respected by others even if they are not shared.

I’m so glad that the day has been one spent in Orkney, a place that I love. 
I have spent the day wandering about in the sunshine amongst the crowds of locals and visitors all intent in having fun in the gala atmosphere. The week sees the return of folk who have moved away from Orkney coming ‘home’ to renew acquaintances and family ties, so there is a very warm family feeling abroad in the streets which can make being on one’s own as a tourist, albeit a perennial one, just a little lonely at times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.