Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

NEARLY ALL HOME GROWN FROM SEED

I wanted to go out into the garden this morning so gritted my teeth and asked Mr. HCB to help me -  being rather independent and stubborn, I wasn’t going to ask, but I wanted to take a collage of our flowers, mainly because they look good, but also as a record of what flowers were blooming when in our garden.

This was the result - and all but two of the flowers have been grown by Mr. HCB from seed.  He says he won’t be growing so many next year, as he has found it quite challenging this year, but that’s fine, we shall have a record of what he did this year.  

The passion flower is one given to us by a Blip friend, Angelique, some years ago.  She did give us two plants, but I pruned both of them severely in the Spring and only this one has survived and the other is as dead as a dodo.  However, I am thrilled to see this flower and remember not only Angelique, but also my dear Blip friend who died last year, Deanna - deanna_pearce, and who loved passion flowers.

I feel so blessed to know such wonderful people on this site, all of whom have been very supportive in many ways over the years.  Both Mr. HCB and I have a lovely friendship with Heidi of HeidiAndDolly fame, but she hasn’t blipped for a while.  Anyway, when we were speaking last night, and I was telling her we had lots of courgettes (zucchini) she sent me a couple of recipes.  I bemoaned the fact that the ingredients were in American cups, to which she asked if I had a set of American cups and I said I didn’t.  This afternoon, an Amazon van pulled up and the driver left a package on our doorstep.  Mr. HCB, as droll as ever, asked what I had ordered now - and I told him I couldn’t recall anything.  

When I opened the box, I found the two things that I am wearing in my extra shot - I assumed they were earrings, but of course, knew immediately who had sent them because they were “cups”!  So thank you Heidi, I shall enjoying wearing these new fashion accessories.

Big day tomorrow, so I am about to write a list of questions for the Spinal Consultant - well I need to get my money’s worth, don’t I?

This quote is for all my lovely Blip friends who have blessed me in so many ways in recent weeks.  THANK YOU!

"A friend knows the song in my heart 
     and sings it to me when my memory fails."
Donna Roberts

P.S.  The two one not grown from seed are  is the passion flower and the verbena.  Corrected by Mr. HCB after reading my Blip! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.