Groovygran

By Groovygran

"Old Ladies Bonnets"

Not sure why folks around here call this Aquilegia by this name.

I've never seen an old lady with a bonnet that looks so stylish. In mums garden there are lots of different varieties as mum and dad live in a quaint cottage that is a grade 2 listed building.

As it was one of the first houses built on their road its always been of interest to students at the nearby school, they are brought to study the house by both art and history tutors.

Mums garden is a cottage garden full of flowers and shrubs she loves. Before her illness she spent hours lovingly planting weeding and pruning. Now she can only be wheeled to oversee it from a distance but I try to describe her blooms as best I can. Mum always smiles as I tell her what a fabulous job she's made of all the flowers she's lovingly planted.

Personally I think that the flower is more like a "Lady Gaga Bonnet" so from now on I'll call it that.

Notice the cheeky fly taking a peep at the LGB :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.