iaint

By iaint

Old and New

At lunchtime I found myself close to North Queensferry and decided to eat my supermarket sandwich beside the sea. I took the opportunity to tick the Blip box at the same time. 

The weather was better than it looks in the photo, so I was actually eating outside. 

The jetty in the photo is where ferries operated to and from South Queensferry and I am old enough to remember using them when we "went North" for our summer holidays. 

The nearest bridge is the road bridge built in the 1960s. No more nerve wracking drives on and off ferries, which gave my mother migraines every year. The cat, the dog and my younger brother all joined my mother in being car sick on those journeys, so it was all lots of fun. 

The other bridge is the road one opened in 2017. The older one was rusting. They have repaired it for use by public service vehicles.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.