Travels With 4 Wheel Fred

By HRGibbon

The Good, The Bad & The Ugly

The Good

I lent my trusty 70-200mm f4 L IS lens to someone today. In fact, I lent it to them last night to use today at the Jim Clark Rally . As soon as they had driven out the drive, the feeling of loss swept over me. I know what you're thinking, it's only a lens. Well yes, it is only a lens, but it's my most favourite lens in the world ever! Thankfully it was returned to me tonight, in full working order. I knew it would be fine, but it's just such a part of me. Tonight I lent them the 24-70mm f2.8 L and I don't feel the same loss. In fact, I'm not too worried about it at all. As good a lens as it is, it just doesn't hold the same place in my heart. (Am I really talking like this about a lens???!)

The Bad

We go to Staples to get the car club magazine photocopied, it was a bit of a struggle today. With random lines appearing on the photocopy (none visible on the original) then trying a different machine led to the ink being visible both sides of the paper (the magazine is assembled by stapling 2 double sided A4 to a double sided cover and then folded). We then decided that the lines through the writing were the lesser of the two evils and photocopying commenced. We then just had time to go and peruse the clearance stationery section to see if there were any bargains. There were a few....

The Ugly

The ugly is when you've been sent a list of amended dates for the car club, so you highlight the fact that the next date for an event has changed, have it printed and ready to go, only to find that the date hasn't changed. :/ Grrrrr....
30 magazines x 2 sections to correct = an hours extra work.

But never mind. These things happen and it all worked out in the end. The good and the bad of today more than outweighed the ugly. :)

*Backblip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.