I Witness

By KangaZu

Tennessee Vacation ...

… day 2.

We had another relaxing morning at the condo before starting the day.  And as I was sitting out on the deck I heard what I thought was a pileated woodpecker.  And I was so right!  Unbelievably, he/she was right outside our condo!  Thankfully, Richard had brought the 600mm lens so we both took turns using it on our cameras.  I had to use the adaptor for my mirrorless camera but I’m rather pleased with the result. 

Our destination today was Falls Creek Falls … about an hour from our resort.  Now, who the heck named that?!?

We had read that these are lovely falls and there are several walking trails at this park … we do like both those things!  When we got to Falls Creek Falls we decided to walk the trail to the falls even though it said it was moderately strenuous.  We were quite irritated when we got to the end of this almost one mile (very) strenuous trail and found a parking lot at the top of the falls!  Grrrrrr! 

The photo in the upper right shows Richard walking over the suspension bridge that’s at the beginning of this trail.  As we thought this was the only way to the falls I also walked across it!  And I hated it!  It wasn’t so bad at the beginning as there was no one else walking across it but when I got to the middle a couple started across from the opposite side!  And, of course, that made the bridge sway quite a bit.  I was terrified but held on to the railing as this couple continued across before I completed the trip across.  The falls were very spectacular once we made to it them.  We spent quite a bit of time there.  Me more than Richard as we decided that I was NOT going to return the way we came!  Since we knew now that there was a parking lot at the top Richard returned for the car whilst I waited at the Falls.  I felt bad that he would have to cross the suspension bridge again but he was kind enough to do it so I wouldn’t have to make the return trip across.  I've added to the Extras a collage of the falls themselves ... plus. 

We were at this park for a good four hours before returning to the condo for the evening.   All in all it was another great day here in Tennessee.
 
Backblipped: July 18, 2023 … sigh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.