Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Retrieved and Restored

I've always been the archivist for the family, especially where photos are concerned.  I lent some of them to Phil because he was pursuing Family  history at one stage.  After our weekend visit to his flat I came back with more photos than I originally lent him. This one was in an A3 folder that I'd created as a college project.  At the time I'd been able to talk with Hilda, my mum's sister as I was researching the Castleford side of the family.  I haven't got any notes about who these people are, so I guess Hilda didn't really know.  Our Castleford family was fairly vast.  I was chatting to GG yesterday afternoon and family history came up.  I'd talked about this one and after our conversation ended I scanned it into the computer.  This morning I've tried a further edit using the new restoration Neural Filter in Photoshop - it's pretty impressive.

I've had a difficult few days following our visit to Phil's flat and haven't felt much like picking up a camera (I may have a few images on my phone).  Yesterday felt better.  I was able to make a start on how I might find a home for all the artwork that came out of his flat - all bubble wrapped and unopened.  I think there might be more on this story to follow. 

I've been reading quite a lot and have found Kathleen Jamie's mini stories of her travels a real break - she writes beautifully.  Sh's currently  the Scottish Makar (National Poet for Scotland).  I began with her book `Findings', which I found as I was sorting out the children's fiction that was still on the shelf (it's not a children's book - though some older children might enjoy it).  I'm now moving quickly through Sightlines (downstairs) and Surfacing (upstairs).  I doubt there will be another one soon enough, so maybe I'll have to re-read.  It prompted me to look back at the Photobook linked to our visit to Alaska on ISSUU - they've changed the rules about what is free so I think I'm going to have to get around to publishing it.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.