Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Lots of insect activity

Around about teatime the sun came out and so did the insects.  I've chosen one with the hover flies because they are the only insects that I have any success with when they are in flight - hence their name.  The star of the show was a Hummingbird Hawk Moth, but unfortunately it flew away before I had the chance of a photograph.  There was also one comma butterfly and on small white.

So to follow the pattern and recall the day backwards I was in Barnsley in the afternoon to meet with the bank adviser and to close Phil's accounts which took a bit longer than I expected but she was very thorough and found an account I didn't know he had.  Then onto the Civic to re-stick some of those images that had come away from  their mounts.  I took some spare tacky-back this time so if it happened again the gallery staff could re-mount them.  It was good to catch up with Liz, who had some really good suggestions about how I could move-on with the paintings/ artwork that we'd removed from Phil's flat.  It was also good to be standing back there in the gallery, which still has a lovely feel to it.  

Earlier still I drove up to Tai Chi but decided not to take part as I'd tweaked my back putting on my socks and as it was important that I was fit to go to the bank I opted out.  It gave me a bit more chance to sort through some of the paper work that Jay had stuffed in a carrier bag.  This also left me with more questions about Phil's medical history.  There was paperwork for 2022 from the NHS with one letter indicating that he'd missed an appointment but none for 2023 and the Coroners office told me early on that he'd missed a lot of appointments.  I'm left wondering how I could pursue this - I guess I could start with the Coroners Office as I have a name for the person I originally spoke to.  Maybe some people's advice would be to leave that alone, and maybe I will, but for me there are a number of aspects of his last few weeks I'd like to make more sense of - maybe it's often like this and we ask why.  I think I was doing that around Ann's death and I knew what on the surface had happened for her.

p.s. I thought I might add that this was probably the first time I'd felt lost in the moment with camera in hand.  I think I've always used photography at difficult times to see me through and for the past few days I haven't really been motivated to pick the camera  up- though I have begun to re-visit Harris and am trying to pit a zine/book together about the `ruined houses'.  I'm still reading too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.