Despite the heat of yesterday - 89 C

... I still managed to do a little bit of work on the Newsletter.  

And was it hot?  If this house gets hot then it really IS hot.   It's cooled down  a little now and I did sleep properly for a few hours but was awake again just after five.

There were butterflies around in the garden in the morning and I wrote this piece for FB using yesterdays Blip image, `The Big Butterfly Count began last Friday. There are not too many butterflies about in the garden at the moment but I did see two Meadow Browns (above) last night at least one Gatekeeper (maybe two) this morning. It's not easy to distinguish between the two when they are in flight. Also a small white last night, small tortoiseshell during the day and also (I think) a Holly Blue, which we don't see every year. I found a photo of the Buddleja from last year which on August the first was looking triumphant. This year it's already looking well pas its best. But I do like the touch of purple that it brings to this image (see yesterday).' But the evening was cloudy and only the bees were active.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.