TrishaR

By TrishaR

The Route Home

Up at mum for 8:50. She just woke up so let her come to. Helped her get dressed and through on the chair. Fiona, one of my daughters friends was coming to visit her at 10:30, so we left around 10. Off we went to Tesco for the shop and home for our croissants.

Back up to mum for her lunch, she was in bed , pretty tired she was. The phone rung and it was Cornhill Hospital which is run by Macmillan for Pallative care. The GP mentioned she was going to be in touch with them to offer day visit and the co-ordinator offered the nearest date which was October. I asked if there was anything nearer as I didn’t think mum would be here in October. She was really sorry but there wasn’t. There was more recent appointment for a pamper visit, getting nails, reflexology, hairdresser. And she gave me the number of a organisation called Circle of hope that did home visits. After half an hour she rung back and said there had been a cancellation and thought mum was the best fit for it which started 10 August on a Thursday for 6 weeks. We will see…..

Then the Access team called for discussion about carers. They are doing a home meeting on Monday to discuss needs and will get what we need in place. I told them we don’t carers for everything only personal care I can manage most else.

Later the community nurses called but I wasn’t there my daughter was there with Ben at the time and they will call me direct to arrange a visit.

We had a walk down to the library as I had ordered mum a book in large print but it’s tomorrow I’ve to pick it up.

Morag did the tea time on her way home from work. We went back around 7 and mum was in bed. She was brighter than she was earlier in the day but then got really tired . We had a cuppa in her room. Had a few laughs about stuff and then got her settled for the night and she was sleeping not long after we tidied up and left.

Can it really only be two weeks since that call she was in hospital on 4 July? It seems months ago! And what did my life consist of before this? It’s unreal how you just slot into a new normal. But a very distressing one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.