TrishaR

By TrishaR

Monday

Got up to mum just after 9. She had just woken up and that was from us leaving her in bed last night at 8. Slowly got her up and to the loo, got her dressed and then she got through and had her toast and tea.

While I was waiting I emailed the doc surgery asking for the carers to be put in place. I can do anything other than the personal care ie washing etc. when I got had my breakfast I got a phone call from mum’s GP, Dr Walker. She had received the report from the multi disciplinary team detailing what mum has which is liver and pancreatic cancer thinking it started in pancreas and spread to liver. She explained a few things and said that she was going to pop up to see mum today around 1pm this is instead of Thursday as Dr Scott of the surgery lost her mum on Sunday and she can’t leave the surgery on Thursday because of Dr S being off. She wanted to talk to mum about various things, one being to have a DNR in place if that’s what mum wants.

My cousin Hazel was arriving from Troon at 11:30 to visit mum and we all went up. Had a good chat and laughs and then Dr Walker arrived so Hazel left.

I have only praise for Dr Walker. She sat next to mum. She explained clearly and gently what was going to be put in place for her coming care. She would be in touch with Cornhill to visit the Macmillan nurses and apply for pallative care. She explained the DNR note. Explained to mum that if she had a heart attack, people receiving resuscitation on the chest often get cracked ribs and if she wanted this done she could but then it would be her probably having another. Mum said no she wouldn’t want that to happen. We had already agreed on this. After she finished she said now she wanted her to make some memories with the time she has left with your lovely family. I asked her if there was somewhere we could borrow a proper wheelchair and she said the Red Cross had just stopped hiring them out but she had one in her garage we could borrow! So nice of her. She is being it to the surgery on Thursday for us to pick up.

She then asked mum if she had any questions for her. Mum said you know I haven’t cried about this. I read somewhere that if you have had a good life then you don’t have anything to cry about. And I have had a good life. My tears flowed and Dr Walker looked over at me and she was overcome at this too. She took mum’s hand and said you are a remarkable woman. We finished up and I saw her out. A pretty remarkable GP that has empathy, kindness and caring .

Gave mum some lunch and then we came home and did some gardening, reading and some housework. Morag was doing the tea time on her way home from Ninewells so we had an evening walk. We walked up Gannochy near mum’s and then went in to hers and had a chat and then got her into bed around 8. With her phone, her book, her iPad and her water.

A wee seat with Long Lost Family and bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.