Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Not the car-wash ...

I had a relatively early start today (note the use of the word relatively) as I had to attend a meeting of the vestries of the joint charges of Holy Trinity Dunoon and St Paul's Rothesay. Although we share a priest on a Sunday-about rota, we don't get together as often as we might if we were in a less fiord-divided area, so a Health & Safety update briefing was as good a chance as any. We met in Colintraive - a moderate drive and a ferry for the Rothesay lot, a longer drive for us. I had cadged a lift with two of my compadres on our vestry, so it was a friend who had to screech to a halt as we rounded the head of Loch Striven and saw the amazing sight of hundreds of gallons of water gushing out from the foot of a small neat building which turned out to be part of SSE's Renewables operation in this part of the world. It seemed to us that as Loch Tarsuinn, a dammed loch in the hills through which we'd just driven, had looked alarmingly low, it was perhaps being drained to repair the dam, but I didn't like to ask the men who began eyeing me suspiciously ...

Home by lunchtime, I felt unreasonably tired and drooped over the papers for a bit until the sunshine called and we went for a walk round the West Bay, having been dissuaded from going anywhere by car because the roads out of town, north and south, are both under repair, which in these parts means chucking down tar and stones and letting the traffic do the heavy rolling. Our new tyres are already full of gravel. 

The evening saw me put on a repeat performance of the palaver of a month ago. No details this time, but I've worked something  out. It wasn't heatstroke in June - I was surprised at the diagnosis, because I'm used to temperatures in the mid-30s from several holidays, including walking ones - it seems to be an allergy to Quorn. I'd eaten the same quorn-based chilli on both occasions, and I've just (Wednesday midday) looked it up. 

Never again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.