Pictorial blethers

By blethers

New path

Today was resolutely a free day in my head. Didn't stop me waking with a bit of the old angst, but by the time I'd had my tea and observed what Shipfinder described as a "British Warship" (though labelled with a German flag, oddly) passing my view (extra collage) I felt more human and assembled an essential washing to be put on before breakfast. Other than that - and hanging it out - all I did before coffee was have a long phone call with Di. 

But not quite all. I was driven to think a bit by a post made by someone I sort of follow on Twitter, about boredom. I've been of the opinion for some time now that life is quite literally too short to waste in being bored; I no longer bother to finish any book that I'm finding less than riveting; I do my best to steer clear of people or conversations that I find dull. I actively panic if I feel myself succumbing to ennui because I feel it's a waste of time that seems to be speeding ever more rapidly by. My father used to say that he believed that teenagers needed to have time to lie back and stare at the ceiling, but that was to dissuade me from attempting to join a pal who had a Saturday job in Woolworth's. So that's what I also did this morning - a tiny semi-philosophical discussion on Twitter.

After a leisurely lunch with the Sunday paper, I decided that another sedentary afternoon would have seriously bad implications for my back. A walk was called for. Maddeningly, the road south to the Ardyne area is newly resurfaced - yesterday's drive took us three times longer than usual and left our new tyres full of stones and tar - so, ignoring the probably effect on my conjunctivitis, we went to Benmore Gardens and had them to ourselves because we arrived just before closing time. The path in the photo is a new one, made since Covid, and is gradually being planted in the cleared area round it. 

The other component of my extra collage is the view from my sofa when I'm watching telly - just outside, there is this lovely pale sunlit vista of the hillside on the far side of Loch Long. It's very distracting.

Thanks all for the sympathy and advice about conjunctivitis - the other thing I accomplished before I was even out of bed was to arrange for a consultation with one of our GPs who won't be performing minor surgery as he speaks to me ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.