Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Spinning...

...is what I tried today, using a drop spindle, at Birkhill House in the Borders which runs craft workshops among other things. This week it's Fibre Week with lots of free workshops. I succeeded in making some yarn from the green wool fibres in the photo, not a huge length, as you can see, but it was definitely yarn! We also had a go with less processed wool - pictured on the left of the photo, where you can also see the drop spindle. I enjoyed learning a skill which must have been practised for millennia.

I think this is my twelfth blip birthday, at least according to Blip, although it was actually 22nd July 2011 that I started. Never thought I would still be doing it 12 years later! I guess this blip is of something that I've been doing a lot of since I retired, which is trying out new things. Some of them work and others don't. What I don't seem to do enough of is get down to more of what I've enjoyed trying - it's easier to go to a workshop and do things there than it is to carry on at home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.