biddy

By biddy

In the garden.

It was chilly last night and I had a hot water bottle! I keep waking during the night just recently with an annoying cough, so hubby has relocated to the spare room!
It rained a bit first thing this morning but had cleared before lunch.
A friend from up the road dropped in so we had a coffee and a catch up. She had brought a card for our anniversary.
Our neighbour next door came around yesterday with a bottle of Côte du Rhône. One of my favourites!
I went to Pilates after lunch and had a coffee with the usual ladies afterwards in the atrium. We’re now watching the highlights of the Tour de France after our tea.
Pogacar has dropped right back, evidently finding the heat and the effects of previous two weeks too much. He was heard on the team radio saying “I’m dead…” So sad.
It was warm enough to sit in the summerhouse before tea, with the sun streaming in. I cut some more roses to put in a couple of vases a bit later.
Then I looked for a photo.
It’s one of my several hostas just coming into flower.
Whatever we think of our present July weather, which generally has been wet and dull, the rain has blessed the plants and restored the grass of the “lawns”. (.ours could never be classed as lawn! ).
I have to find our blood pressure monitor now, as I have a telephone review of my meds with the GP in the morning. I have to take my blood pressure first so I can tell the doctor the result. A whole new way of a visit to the doctor since Covid sent everything on-line.
We had the sad news that Stephen’s cousin Jean died yesterday. He had only been speaking to her last week on the phone. We kept in touch with her. This was followed by his brother Andrew phoning to say he will be having a triple heart bypass before the end of the month. He had been to Leeds for his consultation with the surgeon.
So that will be another few days up in Yorkshire as both his cousin Jean and his brother, live in Grassington. Jean’s daughter sent us a message earlier today.
Into this mix….. the Ashes Test Match began again today, this time in Manchester.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.