flavia13

By flavia13

I'VE BEEN DRIVING IN MY CAR..................

No NOT this one sadly, just my beat up little Nissan Note, whom I call Nick!!!

I gave G a few choices of things to do today and he chose to re-visit the Lakeland Motor Museum as we haven't been for a couple of years.  

We arrived about 10.30 and started off with coffee in cafe Ambio, then went to the Museum.  The lady there signed me up for the Resident's discount, which gives me 20% of the museum plus the Windermere Boat cruises if I choose right up until 2028!!!.  I did have one of these but quite a while ago now, and if you go in the winter you get a whole 50% off, so why not - it costs nothing to sign up for it.

Considering he doesn't drive, nor ever has, G does have a liking of old cars.  There's always something to see in the Museum that I haven't seen before.  I must take the same sort of photos every time, but still I enjoy it so that's the most important thing.

The blip is of a 1937 Bentley 4 1/4 previously owned by Douglas Campbell, hence the Bluebird Colour.   In extras is of a bonnet mascot of a wee dog that reminded me of a certain white fluffy dog called Fletch.  Now I think this is more of a Scotty Dog than a Westie but it's stance still reminded me of the FABULOUS FLETCH.  
We must have spent a good 2 hours in there, with lots of sit downs for G of course and there are plenty of benches to sit in the museum.   He did get a bit of a dizzy spell towards the end, despite the rests, so time to call it a day.

We went back to Café Ambio for lunch.  Just meant to be a sandwich again but it was a large seeded roll, with coleslaw and quite a big side of salad, so I couldn't eat all mine.  It was still very nice though.

We left about 1.00 pm.  We did have a bit of trouble getting back up onto the main road because there was a huge tailback going towards Newby Bridge, all the way past Haverthwaite!!!  However a very kind lorry driver let me out so  we headed back up The Mosses via Levis Garth Road (right opposite the Steam Trains at Haverthwaite and then the B5278.  So no problem for us at all.

I'm also so glad we went to Heysham today and not yesterday because apparently from 6.00 am this morning there was an abnormal load going from Heysham Docks up to the M6 and then on up to Carlisle and would take about 12 hours - motorists were warned, well they were if you have access to Facebook and the Cumbria Road Watch page!!!  Phew so glad we managed to avoid that!!! Hope none of you got caught up in either of these incidents!!!

Do take care and stay safe and I will see you all tomrrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.