An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

He came bearing gifts

Didn't want to wake up this morning as I was dreaming I was flying over beautiful golden meadows surrounded by purple hills, sometimes floating on my back, the warm breeze keeping me afloat, sometimes flying really fast, face down arms straight out by my sides like a stealth bomber, my eyes watering as I hurtled through the wind, feeling every exhilarating moment.  Fabulous.

I dream of flying often, just me in the air.  Sometimes I am floating above the house having a nosey into the neighbours gardens, sometimes it's over the sea and I fly low enough to feel the sea spray on my face.  If I have a bout of insomnia one way guaranteed to help me fall asleep is to pretend I am flying.  

I imagine I am standing in the garden with my eyes closed, arms by my side, and as I concentrate really, really hard on my feet leaving the ground, I eventually feel myself slowly rising till there's a few inches between my feet and the ground, then a few feet, till I am the height of the house and I can decide if I will float on my back, tilt forward and zoom into the distance or just assume a floating position till I decide where I want to go.  I can really visualise myself in those moments and it is exhilarating.  

And it's all the more puzzling as I have never liked flying (in an aeroplane) and haven't flown since the most horrific incident on a flight home from a work trip to Paris in the mid 2000s, where we had to make an emergency landing at Birmingham (Edinburgh was the destination) and I'm not sure I could ever get on a plane again!  

Hahaha...you don't really need to know any of that but the dream was so real when my alarm went off this morning that it's stayed with me all day, and I have paused many times just to relive the amazing feeling it left me with. 

David was playing golf with Jim, Alan and Keith at Leven today so two of my fellow golf widows, Gail and Natalie, came to me and we treated ourselves to lunch at a rather lovely local hotel (not, not Gleneagles :-)  I was there with other friends Janice and Fiona a couple of weeks ago (and we're going back in August) and the waitress remembered me.  She is so lovely, and once again the food was delicious.   We were in the conservatory looking onto the lovely garden, watching a very industrious red squirrel running up and down one of the large trees.  The time passed really quickly as it does when enjoying good food and good company.  

They headed off just before 4pm and I arrived home to find the latest two dresses I had ordered as possible contenders for Emily and Sam's wedding  had arrived.  I'd already decided that if I didn't like either of these, I was giving up my search and wearing the outfit I bought back in January (which I actually do like!) 

D arrived home about an hour after me with three punnets of the most beautiful looking strawberries.  Keith told him about a farm not far from the golf course so he'd stopped there to buy a punnet and when he saw how amazing the looked, he bought three!  I can tell you they taste as delicious as the look.  So sweet and juicy.  Despite having bought a dessert for Saturday night, I think I will have to make a strawberry pavlova instead :-)

D went to change out of his golf clothes so I took the opportunity to try on the dresses to see what he thinks.  The first one, despite it's price tag, looked cheap and was immediately discarded.  The second one was better and it felt alright on (condemned with faint praise!  lol) but we both agreed that my original outfit is much more elegant and "weddingy" if you know what I mean (the ladies will ;-) so that's that decided.  Good!

No word from the health centre regarding Alan's blood tests, but the second lot of antibiotics have pepped him up a bit and he wanted to go out with Jordan.  He's supposed to be going to the ski place near Edinburgh on Saturday and we weren't sure if he'd be up to it, but will see how get gets on tomorrow.  Hopefully the results will be back tomorrow and we can make a more informed decision.  Of course we will be guided by him in the end as he's very good at letting is know if he feels up to doing something or not.

In other news, the samples of curtain fabric I ordered from John Lewis also arrived and two of them (one for our bedroom and one for the front bedroom) are perfect, so we can finally get curtains made only four years and six years after the rooms were redecorated!  Living up to my motto - Don't delay, procrastinate today!

Wonder how long it will be till the curtains are finally being hung.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.