Possibly the best

By Letters

The out of sight hands

I pass this local eatery a couple of times a month on my way to the local history department in the shire, but have to date never been tempted to visit. Somehow I can see past the signage and the air of decay suggested by the skip and the overflowing rubbish bin. I can even cope somehow with the fact that it appears to be facing the wrong way.

The black décor really gets to me however. I keep imaging burnt food on a dry 2 day old roll plus an unshaven white hatted chef, complete with greasy hair and an ever so slight dribble, behind the counter.

"What can I get you sir" he would mouth spittingly while keeping his hands out of sight, doing what out of sight of course hands do. "What are you in the mood for today" he might say. "We have bacon, eggs, sausages and black pudding and I cook it all myself with my out of sight hands."

I have a horror of contaminated food and won't even buy pick n mix just in case someone, and I know it's unlikely, has handled my gobstopper prior to purchase.

On balance, I think I will continue to avoid eating here. I may be missing out on some really amazing cuisine of course, but I doubt it somehow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.