Flossmo

By Flossmo

I see

I was up and out of the apartment by 9 am and drove over to Wrexham for the first of two workshops that I am doing whilst I am up here. This week (Thursday and Friday) the topic is lithography on plastic plates.

We started the day with a demonstration and then spent some time practicing drawing before committing to the plates. The drawing on plastic is done with biro so there is no going back. Drawing isn’t my best or even favourite activity but I soldiered on. 

After lunch we transferred our drawings to the very thin polyester plates and then had a go at inking and printing them. The results were surprisingly good with very dense blacks. We continue tomorrow.

The photograph is of one of the many prints that hang in the corridors of the college’s art department. They are part of a collection of prints made by Paul Peter Piech. There is another in the extras. See https://www.rogersjones.co.uk/en/articles-and-features/2020/paul-peter-piech-1920-1996#:~:text=Piech%20was%20born%20in%20Brooklyn,with%20the%20Army%20Air%20Force for more details about Piech, an interesting man. I think few people notice what is hanging on the walls and what a treasure they are. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.