Flossmo

By Flossmo

Rain wonderful rain

The sky was cloudy and the temperature pleasantly cool when I awoke this morning. Within half and hour the heavens opened and we had a really good downpour. It was a novelty.

A quick look at the forecast and I could see that further west there wasn't any rain so I jumped in my car and drove into Snowdonia.I stopped at the Tanygrisiau Reservoir near Blaenau Ffestiniog (see blip), the Trawsfynydd reservoir and the Celyn reservoir (see blip). The story was the same at all three - very low water levels. It will take a lot of rain to restore them to their usual fullness. So, if I see more rain in the next few days I won't be complaining.

I enjoyed a pleasant walk around the shore of the Trawsfynydd reservoir. There was a cool breeze and it was such a wonderful contrast to the last few days. The third extra blip is of a butterfly I saw in the field alongside the reservoir. It was a type I had never seen before and I thought it might be rare. Imagine my disapointment when I looked it up and the blurb said: Ringlet, widespread on damp grassland throughout Britain and Ireland. I suppose we dont get too much damp grassland in Surrey.   

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.