The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

Warm Shadows

I started out thinking I would document how their grape vine was slowly engulfing the garden shed out back but focused instead (excuse the pun) on the soft warmth of the tone and contrast of a solitary shadow.

Adding to the story behind my new profile pic of the two "old salts", the extra is a photo taken roughly a hundred years ago (no, not by me), a bit before the Great Depression, when my mother's family lived in Pawtuxet RI. She's the young girl at the rail behind her father, enjoying a day on the water with her family on the Vagabond. According to family legend my grandfather, a skilled cabinet maker, took a long boat and added the superstructure. My grandmother,  convinced that the boat was top heavy from his modifications and likely to capsize, refused to come along on these outings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.