litl hikes

By litl

Yesterday evening I made what should have been a good plan for the morning.

Leave home about 7.45 and put fuel in the car on the way out of Ambleside. Get through Kendal before the work/school traffic built up. Stop at Kendal tip to get rid of one item that Ambleside won’t take. On to Asda and use their textile recycling facilities before having breakfast in their cafe which the website said opened at 8.30. Then to B&Q next door for fence paint. Finally, as I was at the south end of Kendal it would only be a short drive to Sizergh Castle for a wander and photos.

No fuel because a tanker was replenishing supplies (I got some on the way home) and Asda cafe doesn’t open until 9 o’clock now.

That gave me time to wander around the aisles where I spotted fence paint, in the right colour, for £4 less than B&Q. I also picked up another mattress protector so I no longer need to wash and dry on the same day, a pack of A4 printer paper and a birthday card.

The cooked breakfast (with tea and toast) was well worth the £6 and kept me going until coffee and cake at Sizergh. I skipped lunch :)

On a sunny afternoon Sizergh is great for butterflies and bees but this was a dull morning so it’s photos of the castle and grounds. More in the extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.