fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Great friends

I don't have many rules for myself when it comes to Blip, but I do feel that I ought to have taken the photo. So, really, the most important and representative photo, today, is the second of my Extras, but I didn't take that. Anyway, we'll come back to that in a bit.

Firstly, an apology of sorts, for I implied in yesterday's Blip that we didn't really do much, but that ignores the fact that the Minx created the painting that is my first Extra, taken when I came down to make coffee, this morning.

It's been a while since I've seen her paint or draw anything - as she has been so busy with work - so I was delighted. Partly it was to see her art again, but mostly just to see her enjoying it. 

My actual Blip was a graffito on our way to the station to catch the train to Nice. I particularly liked that it doesn't seek AN end to capitalism, but rather to be involved in the process. Right now, though, I'd settle for an end of the Tories.

And so to the second Extra and today's True Blip (even if I didn't take it): the Minx, me, Chris, Janice, and Hannah. 

It was through Hannah that I first met Chris and Janice; my first wife and Janice met at a baby group when Hannah and their son Tom were a few months old. Our friendship has lasted thirty years and they are two of the people I love and admire the most.

For the last couple of weeks, they have been driving around France, and their tour ends in Nice today, so the five of us were able to meet up. I guess it should have seemed quite surreal, but in fact it seemed completely natural.

We had a wonderful evening, and my only regret was that our last train home was at nine-thirty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.