Give Me Caffeine....

By Caffeinated

Crannog

If I thought sleep at home was bad.......
Took ages to get to sleep last night, the place was so quiet, and couldn't get comfy( not due to the bed, think it was just me).

Down for breakfast where I discovered I am the only person staying at the hotel! Trust me to pick the smallest hotel and be the only one .
A lovely breakfast with nice coffee.

Headed to the Scottish Crannog Centre for a tour; a Crannog is a type of ancient loch-dwelling found throughout Scotland and Ireland which dates back 5,000 years ago. They found remains of several Crannogs at the bottom of Loch Tay and have reconstructed this one (which took them 3yrs and was impressive to watch a dvd of how they did it.) to show us how they lived back then. It would have housed up to 20 members of a family with cows, pigs and sheep in them too.

We got shown some tools they would have used and watched how they would have made a fire without matches.

After an hours tour I headed onto Kenmore and sat outside by Loch Tay with a coffee and my book for a few hours. Had a wander round Kenmore then back to Aberfeldy to walk The Birks; a lovely forest walk where I stopped several times and watched the water fall and flow.
Nipped back into the Watermill and spent £35 on books, can't wait to get stuck into a few of them.
Decided to have dinner in the hotel tonight, a lovely duck dish. A lot of the locals use the hotel as a restaurant so there were a few more diners than breakfast! Where the owner is nice and genuinely interested in talking to me, I just want him to ignore me. Don't like attention drawn.
Sat outside with my book after I finished eating and am now in my room waiting to sleep.

Despite being so busy I have been distracted and can't stop thinking about the things I am trying to avoid. I have realised you can't run from your thoughts, I'm just in a different place physically but the same place mentally.

I am ready to go home tomorrow, have felt uncomfortable at times on my own and self conscious.
Would I go away again myself? I don't know. I've only been away 2 days and I've had enough. But maybe if I was in a better place emotionally it wouldn't be so bad.

Today I realised I stayed by water all day. I love being by water and can't imagine not seeing it daily.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.