Acts of deliberate notice

By Yaviere

Can't wash your hands in a buffalo

Today my local Wildlife Trust held their annual Bison Festival (they have been trialling ecosystem management with free-roaming bison) and I went along. I have had such a wonderful day: making a little wooden bison out of cut logs, playing a "guess the location" game, going on a ranger-led tour of one of the enclosures and learning so much about the bison and their conservation work, getting my face painted and, to top it all off, actually seeing the little herd (amazing when you realise they have about 50 hectares to roam around in and most of that is dense brush away from public footpaths). This is such an important step in landscape management and I am so proud of the Wildlife Trusts for their forward-thinking, planet-friendly solutions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.