JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Another skipper

Skippers are ten a penny here this year, and this is the second one I've blipped. I think it's the slightly smaller Essex skipper, as other photos of this one seem to me to show black tips on the underside as well as the top of the antennae. I also think it's a bit smaller than the Small Skippers I've photographed in previous years - but I may be wrong!

I'm pleased to have a few more butterflies around now that the buddleia is flowering, and tried to photograph both peacocks and red admirals on it, but I found it difficult to position myself to show them with wings open/visible in decent light. I was using the 105mm macro lens, and have concluded that it doesn't suit me well for butterflies. When well focused, it gives better definition than anything else I have, but it was difficult to get as close as I wanted (in rather cluttered surroundings) before the butterflies moved or flew away. I've been happier with butterfly photos from the 55-250 zoom, which gives good background separation and avoids having to be close enough to disturb the butterflies, so will revert to that if we have another sunny day any time soon. The forecast is not promising.

I had a good day gardening, as J has her PA supporting her all day on Fridays. The last of the herbs I've grown from seed - mint and oregano - are now in their big tubs, a second batch of small cauliflower plants potted on to feed and pamper before they go in the garden, where I hope they will flourish and provide late winter or early spring meals, and a bit more progress with the endless attempts to clear, tidy and make things look nicer. I love being out there, and wish I could spent more time getting and keeping things in better order.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.