Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Flying

It's been a quiet day, exactly what we both need right now.  I spent a lot of time in the garden enjoying temperatures in the low 80's and a nice breeze.  As I write this, I am watching woodpeckers, cardinals, blue jays, blackbirds, hummingbirds and finches swirling around the garden, while the milkweed patch is abuzz with pollinators of all kinds.  Nature is such a healing balm when I am feeling unsettled - there is a certain continuity to nature that makes me know things will be okay.  

I took today's picture early this morning and as the end of the day approaches, it is still my favorite image.  Hard not to love hummingbirds and flowers.

I have been thinking a lot about Virginia today and thought I'd share a little more about her.  As I mentioned, she was the youngest daughter of an Italian immigrant family, born in 1929.  Her sister, Rosie, who was several years older married fairly young (late teens, maybe early 20's) but Virginia didn't want to be tied down.  You can imagine how well that went over with a very traditional Italian papa.  By her own account, she had a number of boyfriends, none of whom she felt were marriage material.  When she eventually married at the age of 29, she did so while retaining her fierce independence.  She drove, she smoked, she worked and she wouldn't take crap from anyone.  She went on to have 3 children (and 2 grandchildren and 7 great grandchildren).  I often thought she might have been born several generations ahead of her time.  

I am going to have a bit of dark with ginger today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.