twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

Another slow morning; I did manage a brief foray to the shops for milk etc (as you can see by the Lidl blip).

And again - TdF on TV, test match on the radio / interspersed with periods of me closing my eyes. It's only 2 weeks into my annual leave that I feel like I'm actually on holiday....

For the third time in four days, there was football in the evening. Hearts B are once again gracing the Lowland League with a team this season, and they've abandoned Roslin / Whitehill Welfare as their base for home games and adopted Ainslie Park as this season's home ground. So I assume when The Spartans are at home, then WeeHertz will be away and vice versa. And presumably there might be the odd Friday night fixture, too. 

Anyway, Gretna 2008 were the visitors for the match; and as a good will gesture, the game was free in to encourage the home support to engage with their new home. Tom once again baled out so Alex and I went up to watch a 7-0 thrashing being adminsitered by the Hertz to a team that appear to be in turmoil. No manager and no players at the end of last season, that they've even managed to field a team is an achievemnt of some magnitude. However it does look like they've cast themselves in the Dalbeattie Star / Innerleithen role and it seems it'll take a miracle to stop them finishing bottom. 

In amongst the action, there was a hat trick, an own goal, a 22 man brawl and absolute worldie (Hertz - 5th?) Worth looking out for if it ever appears on social media. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.