From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

Nothing else matters....

It was a beautiful sunny day when I dragged myself out of bed with a groan at 5. I was having such a lovely dream too! I was fine and ready for action once I was out of the shower, the Daz Doorstep Challenge on the radio was answered correctly and I'd had my lemon tea and sugar puffs. Starlings were having a noisy argument outside hitting the window constantly. I tapped on the glass and said 'Oi! Behave or there will be no more mealworms for you!' As if by magic, they quietened down.

I got my usual McDonalds tea once in Solihull but rather than watch the antics of the wild life in there, I went straight up to the council house and sat on a bench in the sunshine. It was a really nice way to start the day and it was with great reluctance that I put my phone away and dawdled into the office.

No one was in my corner all day. Paul and John were on holiday (not together, I hasten to add!) and Shauqat was working from home. It was a lonely day but at least I went out with Nuzhat at lunchtime and had fun playing with a torch that turned into a lantern and had a laugh at two people trying to demonstrate how easily a sleeping bag went back into its carrying pouch. Nuzhat's eldest was going on a school camping trip at the weekend, hence the unusual shopping! I had a look at boots but couldn't see anything I fancied. Boots are not an ideal thing to shop for at this time of year when everyone wants dratted sandals and flip flops. If I had a film named after me, it would be 'Carry On Squeaking'. Oh well...

Anyway, after vandalising the office water dispenser (oops!) I decided to make the most of the lovely weather and walk home, doing a slight detour to walk along a bit of the canal. I was lucky enough to catch this barge going past. It was so lovely down there. I completely lost track of time and was a bit achy by the time I got home. Nothing else in the world matters there.

Track? I'd forgotten how beautiful this one was, but heard it pouring out of a car window stopped at the Wheatsheaf traffic lights - Nothing Else Matters

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.