Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Lightning Sky

This was one of the strangest things I’ve ever seen. It was well past last light. Out of nowhere, I saw a weird glow through the blinds. My first thought was that a fire had burst out in the desert. Then I realized that the glow was being caused by lightning. There were lots of repeated bursts causing the massive orange sky.

I don’t know if this is a common thing in other places. I do know that one of the reasons we have such magnificent sunsets is that the desert dust in the atmosphere creates unusual refraction of the light. I’m going to assume that the color here is a result of the same type of refraction. But instead of the sun being the light source, it’s the lightning.

I read a fascinating research article about the music/math connection. The bottom line was that it would increase students understanding of math to have integrated lessons, created jointly by music and math teachers. I would have loved to do that with our music teacher for my students.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.