MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

King Charles' Cornflower

I thought I had cornflowers growing on our dogs' graves. The Sea of Blue seed that I sowed featured a pic of one on the packet. I have three plants with the correct greyish foliage but as they're coming up to bud I can see that they're not cornflowers. :(

I wanted to photograph a cornflower for my personal coronation invitation challenge. I noticed that the Council has sown an enormous bed of annuals on the road into town. (Extras) From the car it doesn't look very colourful as there's lots of borage included. I went for a closer look. Plenty of love-in-the-mist which gives the impression of cornflowers from a distance. Eventually I found a cornflower plant. I reckon there's only about six of them. It was very difficult trying to get a reasonable shot as it was quite windy and the passing heavy traffic made it worse. The pink in my image is a lavatera bloom. 

Just one more subject to complete my challenge. I need a scarlet pimpernel. We used to have some here but they've died out. My sister has some in her garden in Burnham-on-Crouch so I hope to visit her soon.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.