MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

A Fine Feather, Foul Weather

I found this jay feather on the ground as I got out of the car on Wednesday after picking up my new macro lens from the camera shop. A perfect macro subject for a rainy day I thought. Didn't realise it would be pressed into service so soon. I still like to keep to only posting pictures which have been taken on the day so it's useful to have emergency blip material available.

I had a jay feather in the drawer when my grandchildren were young but lost it. So pleased to have another. I've written before about how they are not really blue, it's just a trick of the light called light scattering. I've captured it against an illustration by Charles F. Tunnicliffe in my daughter's RSPB Book of Garden Birds from the seventies.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.