Almondblossom

By Almondblossom

A warm July evening

This evening was so warm and sunny it beckoned me out for a walk to the river. I love seeing the glimmer of seasonal change which I might be surprised at every year… Do I have the same thought every summer? It’s possible.

So far today I’ve found blackberries and tiny acorns on a nearby oak and then up by the river the first turning rose hips. With the golden light behind me lighting up the foliage of other plants I couldn’t resist this for today’s blip.

Had an eventful day yesterday - I was stung by a wasp on Friday evening, not normally a cause for too much drama but by yesterday morning there was an obvious infection. My breast cancer surgery in 2019 included removing my armpit lymph glands and I’m pretty careful about the arm on that side but this was a shock to have my hand turn into a bright red itchy balloon quite so rapidly. Thank goodness my gentle youngest son was here (unexpectedly) with his partner and he downed tools to take me to A&E and stayed with me throughout. Because of the high risk of further infection I was seen relatively quickly and dispensed antibiotics plus steroids within 3 hours. Today the meds are starting to work and the swelling is diminishing but OMG the itching! It’s driving me nuts when I haven’t got my ice pack wrapped round it.

Now I’m blubbing along to the Ode To Joy section of Beethoven’s 9th at tonight’s Prom, still mourning the outrageous ripping away of our European identity.

Anyway I hope you’ve had more restful weekends and managed to see a bit of sun, at least.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.