Kipsie

By Kipsie

Pontederia cordata

Pickerel weed - growing in a small pond off one of the paths bordering the heath. Quite fitting for a damp bimble.
Yogurt, fresh peach, crunchy granola for breakfast.
Prepped veg, & cooked it to plate a meal for Mum while I got organized. Bagged veggies that I won't get to use with hubby in hospital to drop off at the Community fridge. Clothes bagged for the Salvation Army container.
Up to the plot - fed tomatoes, & courgettes with comfrey tea, fed beans with liquidised chicken manure pellets. Picked the last of the peas, pulled up the sticks, spent plants & weeds into the compost bin. Put a box of veggies together for Mandy, Vanilla's mum. Beetroot, runner beans, potatoes, & courgettes. Dropped them off at her home, fortunately saw her sister, as Mandy had gone in for day surgery to remove a lump. :-( She has been in remission from breast cancer for a couple of years, this lump in the other breast. Chemo to follow. Left the veggies with Alison.
Did the drops up in the town, picked up groceries for Mum, drove down to CK.
Trisha, Mum's neighbour was driving off, a quick chat, I asked her if she would like a bundle of runner beans.. Her favourite. Her lucky day. I'd found a home for my very freshly picked beans....
I'd got all my jobs done bar walking Indie before the dampness started. Full waterproofs this morning. Yuk!
Coffee & Danish with Mum. "We" needed to write a birthday card for the SIL. Sandra's birthday this Saturday. Mum wrote the message, I addressed the envelope. Looking for Mum's address book culminated in one slide of the sideboard being emptied, sorted, & downsized. I now know where I get my magpie tendencies from, it's in my genes, I got them from Mum. Her stash of empty cellophane greetings card packets was EPIC. She also had diaries in chronological order going back years, her school dictionary circa 1942, plus memorabilia relating to their years in The Anchor Inn. It was good for Mum to look back through photos etc. Oh yes!, & what triggered the cupboard being emptied was the fact that there were poppy seeds in the bottom of the cupboard. Obviously harvested, saved, & forgotten. I reckon they would sprout up out of the carpet if it was watered. Which I joked to Mum about.. Her memory maybe shaky but she's still got a great sense of humour. We have plenty of laughs.
I stopped in Chudleigh on the way home to buy stamps at the Post Office.. The new set of 2nd class stamps are beautiful.
Lunch, then on-line paperwork. LPA stuff. Can tick that off the To Do List. :-)
Got hold of hubby, he had his MRI scan this afternoon, results very positive, so should be home tomorrow. What a relief! He needs physio arranged which I will make sure he attends this time. I visited this evening.
NOW watching Earth o the Beeb with Chris Pacham. He's in Iceland... I need to go there, but when I ask myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.