curns' corner

By curns

Grooming

I was very glad that I had not over indulged yesterday. My decision to stop drinking was a good one.

After my meeting with Scott, there were some of the usual Monday morning meetings. After those I got a first look at the forecasting demo. The brief was to put together a sample database to show the forecasting system that we could use within the demo version of our product. Before we get to building the full user interface we have a temporary screen that just shows the forecast working: hopefully enough for our sales team to be able to show prospects that we have a capable system.

We heated the salt beef sandwich, from yesterday evening’s 2Good2Go bag, for lunch and added some of the salad.  I grabbed a cup of tea quickly before heading to a meeting that was convened to discuss the structure of the system entities.  In some ways this is deja vu for me having done a big project to define system entities - and their relationships - in my last job. The difference is that, back then, we did it before we started building the system and here we’re trying to tack the structure onto the system we have in place.  Anybody reading this looking for advice on designing advertising systems should take this one piece of advice: get the entities structured as best you can before you build anything else. It’s more difficult this way around. We didn’t build out the entire structure in my last job but we did have the basics organised. 

Later, Jez and I spend time discussing Dad’s birthday present. 

After work we walked to Wimbledon Chase to buy some food. Going to the further-away shop was nothing more than an excuse for a bit of exercise. We only really needed a couple of onions so that we could do the hotdogs again but we also picked up the food to make the courgette and aubergine dish that we made a lot in lockdown (as we got both vegetables in this week’s box). I ended up making both dinners to save time later in the week. 

On the walk back PY noticed that the shop on the corner that used to sell windows and doors has gone and is being replaced by dog grooming boutique.  The picture probably fits into my #ChangingHighStreet group. What I didn’t notice until I got the picture back was the washing machine!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.