Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

TRAIN FOOD

Mike dropped Becky off at work this morning, then took Astrid to nursery ... and then picked me up at 9.15am to take me to the station to start my journey home.  I got to St Pancras  around 11am.  My train to Newcastle didn't leave until 1.30pm so I had a mooch around St Pancras and Kings Cross stations. Enjoyed listening to a couple of pianists at St Pancras.   Then I went to the Kings Cross First Class Lounge for a while.  It was packed but I managed to get a seat.  Had a cup of coffee and some biscuits which was all they had on offer today.  There were extra passengers hanging around due to 2 trains to Cambridge being cancelled because of an " incident on the line".

My train arrived on time and I managed to find somewhere to stow my suitcase.... the last space on the rack.  Settled down in my seat for the 3 hr 10 min  journey to Newcastle.

The first announcement from train staff was to advise that most of the toilets on the train were broken.  I was in Coach L and the nearest working toilet was in the far end of Coach J.   The journey was delayed for 15 mins at Peterborough due to transport police having to remove some unruly passengers.  

Apart from these two issues the journey was fine.  I enjoyed my meal of trout with broccoli, cous cous and creamy dill sauce followed by apple and frangipane tart with clotted cream.  Took photos of my food to send to Becky and they turned out to be the only 2 photos I took today so they had to be my blip.

Train arrived at Newcastle around 4.55pm and I caught a bus  just outside the station at 5.15pm.

Tino and Lily were very pleased to see me.  I had seen photos on Facebook every day of Tino posted by the Cat Ladies but none of Lily until today.  This morning she was spotted on the window hammock from outside but as soon as the Cat Lady came inside Lily was no-where to be seen.  See Extra for today's Cat Lady photos.

Feeling weary this evening so Im going to have an early night.  Will get back to blip commenting tomorrow.

Steps today - 4,656

*** I did watch the Newcastle v Aston Villa game from the USA which started at midnight today.  The final score was 3 - 3.  The manager made a lot of changes to the team so it was a good chance to see different players  including the two new signings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.