The Way I See Things

By JDO

All grown up

It's barely more than a month since all the Red-legged Shieldbugs I was finding in the garden were nymphs, and less than four weeks since I saw a couple of them go through their final moult, but here are two of them, all grown up and making babies. It's enough to bring a tear to the eye - well, to my eye anyway, because I've been tired and emotional all day.

My mood wasn't helped this morning by the weather having gone off again, but it was hugely improved by R (who knows the most efficient way of restoring my equilibrium) taking me out for coffee and cake. Better yet, by the time we arrived back home the rain had stopped and it was passably bright - but for which, I probably wouldn't even have seen the shieldbugs getting jiggy on this cotoneaster, which is growing in one of the shadiest corners of the garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.