Pictorial blethers

By blethers

All quiet on the western front?

I couldn't resist that misleading title for this blip, which shows the  absolutely still waters of Loch Long at Ardentinny, and in the distance the incongruous cube of the floating dry dock where Britain's nuclear submarines are serviced. I remember the evening it was towed up the river; it was the eve of a General Election, one of the Thatcher wins, and I went down to a shop which had been taken over by the SNP as campaign headquarters and asking one of my pupils to make me a banner for my window saying "NO TRIDENT" in big black letters on a yellow strip. I was still a member of the Labour Party in these days ... 

I also remember that the beach at Ardentinny, which is tucked into the bay just off to the left, was where we took the boys to bathe on lovely days; we made jokes about us all glowing green afterwards, like the Ready Brek adverts, but then I'd have misgivings - the base was so close.

Anyway, it's still there forty years later, and we were there this afternoon for a change of scene when we went for a walk. Other than that, I realised this morning that right now the concept of a holiday at this time consists for me of being able to take as long as I like over getting up and having breakfast without any pressure to be or do something else. I'd be appalled to think that this is what my life has come to, but was feeling so tired again this evening that it's all I need right now. I watch the poor souls on Greek islands, holiday makers and - more importantly - the locals whose whole lives are being ruined - and I know that I'm just not up for anything more adventurous. Why does recovery take so long with advancing decrepitude? 

Sorry - slightly apocalyptic post tonight; we've not been to Ardentinny for a few weeks. Something I noticed, however ,was how beautifully quiet the bay was. In the recent past there have been camper vans and tents all over the area behind the beach, and the bedlam of dogs and campers and radios comparing unfavourably with the peace to which we'd been accustomed. Perhaps the fact that the Council has introduced parking fees, with machines and notices detailing charges and directing people to RingGo when the machines aren't in use - perhaps all this has deterred the bulk of happy campers? 

On the other hand, it's not exactly warm ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.