madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Close Call

I drove to the field no problem this evening! Oscar was so happy to be there - prancing around happily. I sat over by the greenhouse in the last bit of sunshine. I could hear a lawnmower somewhere and to my horror suddenly caught movement. It was Mel the owner on her sit on lawnmower with her dog Rafferty coming at speed across the field towards Oscar! Rafferty and Oscar do not get on! They have barked ferociously through the fence on the rare occasions our times have coincided. She now gets on with Ivy but I think Oscar is a lost cause! 
Anyway I leapt to my feet and hobbled furiously towards her calling her name. Luckily she stopped and I grabbed her collar. Oscar up to this point had been oblivious of her presence - too busy snuffling round the shed! He spotted Mel first and ran barking towards her before he recognised her and realised she was holding out treats for him! I shielded Rafferty as best as I could with my body. Mel grabbed Oscar and then we just stood there holding the wrong dogs! I had made it to the shed, she tied Oscar to the fence and then came for Rafferty. Her heart was racing and my hands were shaking! Turns out my time was 7 not 8pm! I was too conditioned to his eve walk being at 8! She kindly took Rafferty home whilst we continued our play! Thats when I realised that I had thrown my phone as I had raced towards Rafferty! Thankfully It didn't take too long to find it! We left shortly after as my knee was aching - I had put far too much force on that leg in my adrenaline fuelled rush to grab Rafferty! Particularly as I had not grabbed my walking cane! 
It was a great relief to get home and relax!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.