Land-and-seascapes

By tondrijfhamer

Engelsmanplaat revisited

A few weeks ago I went to the Engelsmanplaat in the Wadden Sea, a sand bank in the Wadden Sea, between the isles Schiermonnikoog and Ameland. Almost North Sea.
Tonight I went again! Together with Ron and Herman.
It turned out to be a completely different trip. Different company, very different weather and a wee bit (but an important bit...) deeper wading through the water to come ashore.

I picked up Ron at 18:30 and 30 minutes later Herman stepped into my car as well. The fun could begin, and it did. We arrived at 19:30 in Lauwersoog during a rain shower and met Marcel the guide and the rest of the group. Martin, whom I'd met during the previous trip was there again also. This time with a proper bag and without a leaking wading suit.

We sailed out at 20:10 on what turned out to be rather a bumpy trip. Fierce winds and waves rolling in. It took us almost an hour to get there, but the beautiful views on or way there made it feel like it was all over in a minute.
We departed the ship via a ladder at the front and arrived all wet up to and over our waist on the sand bank.
Then, a hectic 30 minutes took off. The light was amazing. And amazing is still an understatement. I tried to capture as much different compositions as possible, but kept coming back to the one above.
Meanwhile I also tried to capture some film footage on my new little vlog camera. Photography can be very hectic. Haha.
After a while the sun and the light dissappeared behind the clouds and that turned out to be my cue to stop photographing. I tried to capture a panorama and some structures in the sand but that didn't work out the way I wanted. No problem, it's not the quantity but the quality that counts and I knew I had some beautiful photos on my memory cards. 

All and all we stayed around an hour at the sand bank and then the ship's horn sounded, so the wading could begin again. I was the 2nd person back on board.  The tour back to Lauwersoog was much calmer with the wind in our back this time. I enjoyed a nice hot coffee, very welcome, because temperatures weren't that high anymore.

In Lauwersoog we said goodbye to the group and dried our feets and changed into dry shoes. Herman was dropped off safely in Zuidhorn again and so was Ron in Ten Boer. I arrived home at 00:27. Annemarie was already asleep. Before I went to bed I first took a nice hot shower.

Thanks Herman, Ron for a great evening together in the Wadden Sea!


Here's the link to my trip a few weeks ago. As you can see the light conditions were completely different then.

Here's the link to Ron's blip of the trip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.