LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Ironware

There are anchors and anchors but this anchor is the daddy of them all. 
I have watched with fascination  the work being undertaken by the giant floating  crane outside my window as it transfers huge metal items from a tug to the Pole Star Pier nearby. They come from the demolition of sunken underwater machinery  at Billia Croo on the west side of Orkney mainland where there is a Grid-Connected Wave Test Site. This anchor along with enormous iron chains was brought ashore last week.

Well the deed is done! I have had my tresses lopped off in the interests of swimming. I may live to regret it but hey ho it was time for a change. The short style calls for earrings, but it so long that I have put earrings on that I think the holes in my earlobes will have closed up. I’ll have to find out when I get home.

I swam with 6 other Selkies at the 3pm high tide this afternoon. No jellyfish were spotted so they were not present to espy a few watery  handstands from human swimmers. I am improving slowly- I want the perfect one before I leave- straight perpendicular legs and held for seconds. It doesn’t seem a lot to aim for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.