If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Houseleek Flowers ( Sempervivum )

When is a Saturday not a Saturday?  When it's a Tuesday!  Unusually we had guests in the Lodge over the weekend leaving on Monday.   As the electricity meter was due to be changed today we decided to do the cleaning then.  So for the rest of the week, I will probably not be sure what day it is as I have been through my Saturday routine.

In the evening we went to a meeting in the village hall about trying to get some form of public transport back through the village.  With a growing and aging population not to mention climate change it seems to me important.  Until several decades ago the Penrith to Keswick bus came through the village.  I was able if I needed/wanted to get to school and back at just after the hour right up to 7:00 (which nicely covered parents' evenings).  Now the only public transport is the "Fellrunner" on Tuesdays leaving at 11:56 and returning at 16:10.

The blip is one of the Houseleeks at the Lodge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.