MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

The Elusive Scarlet Pimpernel

I've completed my personal coronation invitation challenge! I very much enjoyed my visit to my sister's to capture a scarlet pimpernel growing in her lawn. Fortunately the sun was shining this morning. These tiny wild flowers close when it's dull.

I'm glad that I decided to picture all the items featured in the beautiful invitation. It's my way of marking/honouring the Coronation of King Charles and Queen Camilla. It has helped me through a difficult time and taken me to places I wouldn't otherwise have visited. If I hadn't gone to The Gibberd Garden looking for lily of the valley and columbine (Aquilegia) to photograph I wouldn't have met the woman with her beautiful dog rescued from Sarajevo who said, "Sometimes only a dog can get you through." Soon afterwards Mishka came to live with me and we've got each other through.  

I've made a montage of all of the 34 items and have added it to extras.
For my own information I've listed them below.

Blue boar
Shamrock
Bird's eye speedwell
Daffodil
Thistle
Dog rose
Hawthorn flower
Forget-me-not
Lion
Adonis blue butterfly
Snowdrop (I've pictured a summer snowflake as snowdrops were over)
Rosemary
Scarlet pimpernel
Dog violet
Aquilegia
Daisy
Cowslip
Dianthus deltoides (a cultivated version)
Wild strawberry
Bluebell
Buff-tailed bumblebee
Unicorn
Cornflower
Viola (Couldn't find a wild one)
Primrose
Oak leaves
Acorn
Ivy leaves
Ladybird (Couldn't find a two-spot)
Tudor rose
Lily-of-the-valley
Wren
Robin
Green man   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.