a lifetime burning

By Sheol

A break in the weather

I've changed my main shot - the original is available as an extra.  

Both are hand held long exposure shots, taken with the iPhone using the Spectre app.  For the first I originally chose a 15 second exposure but edited down to a much shorter exposure subsequently as there was too much movement in the waves. To clarify - the phone is not really taking a single long exposure, it is actually taking a sequence of images which it then merges into one multiple exposure image, with some clever editing.   It is then possible to look at the filmstrip that has gone into the in-camera merge on one's computer and to change the start and the end point so as to exclude those frames. 

For the second think I chose a 3 second exposure (some of the earlier ones were as long as 30 seconds but the water was just too lacking in detail).  

The big camera, on a tripod, with an appropriate ND filter, would have produced a much better and sharper result, but it is impressive what computational photography can achieve in a phone nowadays.  

I reckon that I could have got a better result than this with a few more attempts, but I was under some pressure to keep up with the others, who were keen to go and get a coffee by this stage of our walk.

After that coffee, it was time to say goodbye to the coast and I'm now back home with Cathy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.