This is the day

By wrencottage

MOTs for Old Ladies

This gorgeous posy was picked for me from her garden by my friend who came for lunch yesterday. She said she hasn’t got a lot of colour in her garden at the moment, but I beg to disagree with her! 

It’s been a day for MOTs. My 22 year old car (‘one careful lady owner’) has been in for its annual service and MOT and passed with flying colours. It causes quite a stir at the very busy garage where we bought it, and which has serviced it ever since, because in that 22 years it’s only done 35,000 miles! And most of the last 5,000 miles were done by The Traveller on his visits home. He does, however, complain that it’s an old lady’s car and hasn’t got any decent acceleration, which is gratitude for you, considering I’ve let him drive it whenever he wants.

Speaking of old ladies, the car’s owner also went for an MOT this afternoon, in the shape of a DEXA bone density scan. I last had one 15 years ago at the age of 60, when I was diagnosed with possible osteopenia. From the graph that was printed out after the scan today, it looks as though my bone density has subsequently improved quite a bit thanks to the calcium supplements I was prescribed, but I will wait before I get too excited until I receive the official results from the consultant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.