A day in the life

By Shelling

Setting sails

During my teaching career, many of the students I've met has continued having music as a significant part of their lives while others has become teachers in music, as well as other subjects, a few has become artists and when I get a chance to see them performing. One of them, a guitarist, Krister Jonsson, was in the orchestra tonight together with some of Swedens most well known singers at an out-door concert in Kalmar tonight. He has become one of the most used guitarists in Sweden when it comes to jazz and this kind of entertainment. What I didn't know was that another om my former students, Kristin, a keyboard player and singer was also in the band. We haven't seen each other in forty years. I love these meetings and to be able to show them respect for all their hard work and receive mutual respect for being one who was there for them in the beginning of their career. I feel proud, a bit like a parent, seeing his child perform something.

The show was the final concert on a tour called "The archipelago tour", 'Skärgårdsturnén, in Swedish. They've used the ship in the main, the brigg "Tre kronor" as their vehicle when cruising south along the Swedish east coast from Stockholm to Kalmar.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.