TrishaR

By TrishaR

From You to Me

Another poignant surprise when going through mum’s many piles. I had forgotten that I had given her this book to fill in . It has questions about my mums life and she did a draft of the first few pages on a notebook. It’s precious. At first I had wished I had found it before as there were a few pages towards the end that she had not filled in. But even though, it’s a book I will forever treasure with some stories I didn’t know. Thank you my mum.

Not sleeping well, waken in the early hours with a mind full of jumbled thoughts which results in tears.

We went to the registrar and picked up mums death certificate. Then we walked to a little cafe and had some late lunch. I suppose it’s also breakfast too as haven’t really felt like eating. I called mum’s cousin’s son, David who mum was close to. Then another friend Sheila who is a sister of mum’s best friend Anne who died suddenly age 74 in 2016. Anne was formidable but her and mum had a brilliant friendship. As Andy, Anne’s son-in-law put in his condolence message to me , Aunty Dod was the only person I know who could call my Mother in law a twisted bitch and get away with it! I laughed at this.

We were at the flat later and Laura Dave and Ben came over and we sat and talked and laughed about things mum had done and said. It was nice.

Home. I’m totally wiped out. I ache to have a funny text back from mum, or a FaceTime. Every day for 21 years (since dad died) and now nothing.

Thank you again for kind words.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.